Quick Struggles, Finding What’s Good

I just spent the last 2 hours attempting to eek out the requisite 1,667 words in order to reach 50,000 by the end of the month. I made it to 1,837, thanks to a little surge at the end.
It’s not that I don’t know what I want to write, it’s that it’s not coming out on paper the way it plays in my head. So my goal tomorrow is to silence the inner critic- the one who eats my precious time, slowly chews it, and spits it out, like it doesn’t mean anything. I know the work can be done in far less time. Day 1 was one hour.
Even with the struggles to focus, I feel like the story was more comfortable for me tonight. I didn’t love where it was going yesterday, but it took a better turn today. The best part, though, was I typed for a while and reread what I had just written and I unearthed a precious little tagline. I searched the phrase with quotation marks and it doesn’t exist in the google-sphere as written, so I’m going to put it out there and lay claim to it right now!
“And when things got supernatural, life got messy.”

Leave a Reply

