Punx Not Dead

I’m 25,000 words into the second draft of my young adult novel “Punx Not Dead.” It follows a seventeen year old girl in Maine who befriends the guys in a punk band and sort of loses herself and her dreams as she gets caught up in the scene. While there are a few similarities between her and myself and some of the characters and some friends from high school the story is completely fictional. I wrote it last summer in the course of a month. Then promptly forgot about it because it wasn’t well written and had no sub plot.

Fast forward a year later. When I went to the Writing conference in June and pitched my novel to an agent,  she was interested. She asked what else I’d written. I explained Punx Not Dead and she asked to see that one, too. So, since June I’ve been trying to revive this novel. I’m now about a quarter of the way through my rewrite and it’s starting to take shape.

Thanks to the guy who counted down his days left to write (See previous blog-post) I’ve written a bunch these past two days. Yesterday I did just over 1,300 words and today 1,918. At this rate this draft should be done in early 2014. It’ll be good to read it all at once to make some revisions. I think the story is tight enough at this point that it won’t need a major rewrite before revisions and edits. And then off to the agent. Hurrah!

Leave a Reply

